Advice to the College

Something that many CS majors, including myself, joke about is how CUNYFirst is a joke of a system and they wish they could improve it. Until recently, I wasn’t aware that CUNYFirst was a system that not only CUNY used, but many other private institutions used too. I watched my girlfriend use Syracuse University’s system to sign up for classes and it was identical to the CUNYFirst system we use to sign up for classes as well. So instead of just writing my own replacement for CUNYFirst, since I’ve realized the system is probably a standard that the government set, I think the best way to improve the system is to gather groups of students from all over the country to fight against this system. The idea is extremely far fetched and probably unrealistic. But maybe both students and professors who are sick of this system could join together and fight against this at a nation wide scale. This could be done through social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter. We could start an angry hashtag that lets us vent about the system through tweets, or start a Facebook group that could grow at an unbelievable rate.

2 thoughts on “Advice to the College

  1. I definitely agree that CUNYFirst NEEDS to be improved. One of the changes that we should also fight for is for the CUNYFirst website to be way mobile friendly. Sometimes I like to resister for classes right from my phone, but it can be extremely frustrating accessing the website.

    Like

Leave a comment